Bae Yoon-joon

26 Jan

This is an actor named Bae Yong-joon. He’s apparently superfamous in Korea and beloved in Japan. I am on the fence about his hair…OK, not on the fence, I think he looks insane. Yea or nay on this guy? I just moved to Japan so I am somewhat obsessed with the girly-boys here.  Does anyone get it? Someone please recommend some of his work so I can understand the fascination.

7 Responses to “Bae Yoon-joon”

  1. ilknur January 26, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I think super stra bae yong joon achievements in the life of art greetings Bae yong joon

  2. Anna Daugherty January 26, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    Hi,
    You might try watching Tae Wang Sa Shin Gi, also known as The Legend. In it he has the long hair and he plays Tamdeok, the 19th king of Gogeuryo. The story is more legend than truth, I think, but it is very entertaining. And Yong Joon ssi looks really fabulous with his hair long. By the way, the fascination has to do with more than just his looks. He is a sweet man and loves everybody. And that same fascination stretches a lot farther than Asia. I live in the United states, and there are thousands of us here who are devoted fans. More than that, we are Family. He says we are. regards, Anna

  3. veroca April 13, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    try Winter sonata (kdrama), he is the male lead. 🙂

  4. Gaby April 20, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    EWWW!! HE looks like a woman

  5. jicks April 23, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    lol This post totally cracked me up xDD

    I personally don’t fangirl over this man myself (I much prefer the effeminate lads you made reference to ^U^) but having watched a few of his series & movies, I can understand. The Legend was alright but it was Hotelier (original Korean ver) & Winter Sonata that really propelled him to superstardom.

  6. hello May 5, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    the whole “girly-guy” thing is your point of view. it’s b/c you probably grew up in a western culture, and so you they’re girly (no offense, just answering your question). in korea, they’re not considered “girly.” it’s normal.

  7. japandamanda May 5, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    Now that the conversation is getting into gender studies, I find it very interesting. Yes, Westerners have definitions on what is masculine and what is feminine, and Yon-sama’s hair/facial features/behavior in dramas would be characterized as feminine (in a Western film, the hero would be strong, able to protect the woman, not overly emotional, etc. Like the main character in almost all Hollywood action movies, i.e. Mission Impossible, Avatar, James Bond films).

    I get that. It is true, different societies have different standards. I have a massive crush on Matsujun (who is also quite feminine by Western standards), but I still don’t get Yon-sama. Liked him a great deal in Winter Sonata, but he didn’t really get to me….Not sure why the craze happened?

Leave a Reply

